ALL IN FOR EDUCATION.

We are thrilled to announce that The Importance of Being Earnest has been selected for the 2020 VCE Theatre Studies Playlist (Unit 3) and Macbeth (This Ignorant Present) has been selected for the 2020 VCE Drama Playlist (Unit 3).

Malthouse Theatre’s VCE Playlisted shows are supported by our award-winning Prompt Packs as well as post-show Q&As and Revisit the Play sessions. Malthouse Theatre's Education Program ensures that both teachers and students have everything required for a deep engagement and rich analysis of these productions. 

Malthouse Theatre's acclaimed Prompt Packs will be available online once each production opens. 

 

THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST 

14 Feb – 8 Mar 2020

VCE Matinee Performances:
11.30am Thu 20 Feb, 11.30am Thu 27 Feb, 11.30am, Thu 5 Mar

Education tickets are also available for these general public evening performances: 
6.30pm Mon 17 Feb, 6.30pm Wed 19 Feb, 6.30pm Tue 25 Feb, 6.30pm Wed 26 Feb, 6.30pm Tue 3 Mar, 6.30pm Wed 4 Mar 

COST
Metro schools / $29 (per student) 
Regional & low ICSEA schools / $25 (per student)
Accompanying teachers / FREE (up to 2 per group) 
Additional teachers / $49

 


MACBETH (THIS IGNORANT PRESENT) 

9 – 31 May 2020

VCE Matinee Performances:
11.30am Thu 21 May, 10.30am Tue 26 May, 11.30am Thu 28 May 

Education tickets are also available for these general public evening performances: 
6.30pm Mon 11 May, 6.30pm Tue 12 May, 6.30pm Tue 19 May, 6.30pm Wed 20 May, 6.30pm Tue 26 May, 6.30pm Wed 27 May 

COST
Metro schools / $29 (per student) 
Regional & low ICSEA schools / $25 (per student)
Accompanying teachers / FREE (up to 2 per group) 
Additional teachers / $49

 

Event & ticketing details

Accessibility

Wheelchair Access

Event notes

ADDITIONAL OPPORTUNITIES 

POST-SHOW Q&AS

Hosted by a Malthouse Theatre Education facilitator directly after the Education matinee performances.

The Importance of Being Earnest  
Thu 20 Feb, Thu 27 Feb, Thu 5 Mar

Macbeth (This Ignorant Present)
Thu 21 May, Tue 26 May, Thu 28 May 

COST 
$15 per student
 (All)
Accompanying teachers / FREE (up to 2 per group)

REVISIT THE PLAY 

This is your opportunity to join an extensive revision of the production with a close analysis of archival footage and facilitated discussions, in preparation for the VCE written examination. Book tickets to a Revisit the Play session here

The Importance of Being Earnest 
4.30pm – 6.30pm, Wed 6 Sep

Macbeth (This Ignorant Present)
4.30pm – 6.30pm, Thu 17 Sep

COST 
Metro schools / $29 (per student)
Regional & low ICSEA schools /  $25 (per student)
Accompanying teachers / FREE (up to 1 per group)
Additional Teachers / $29