CAST // Statement from Condferation of Australian State Theatres

Back to Blog List

The entire performing arts industry is in the process of cultural change. It’s painful, and it’s overdue, but individuals and organisations are focused like never before on ensuring our work places are safe and our professional relationships are respectful, responsible and kind.

We take this opportunity to repeat our commitment to making positive change in Australian theatre workplaces. We have worked closely with Eryn Jean Norvill and Sophie Ross, the founders of Safe Theatres Australia, an artist-led initiative that fosters open, trusting dialogue across the non-profit theatre sector. The sector has benefited greatly from the leadership and courage they have shown.

One key outcome to date arising from our partnership with the Safe Theatres movement will be the standardisation of workplace policies and procedures across CAST companies. These are designed to prevent unwanted behaviours in the workplace, and to clearly set out how these behaviours will be managed if they do arise. They will be adopted by all nine CAST companies and actively explained and promoted in inductions to the cast and crew of each new production, as well as to administrative and other staff. This will ensure that whenever artists and creatives move between companies there will be consistency in approach. The policies will support the CAST national code of behaviour that was adopted in 2017.

As the current leaders of CAST companies, we accept that we have the responsibility, and the opportunity, to create lasting and positive change for the future.

Bell Shakespeare
Peter Evans, Artistic Director
Gill Perkins, General Manager

Eamon Flack, Artistic Director
Sue Donelly, Executive Director

Black Swan State Theatre Company
Clare Watson, Artistic Director
Natalie Jenkins, Executive Director 

Circus Oz
Rob Tannion, Artistic Director
Lou Oppenheim, General Manager

Malthouse Theatre
Matt Lutton, Artistic Director & Co-CEO
Sarah Neal, Executive Producer & Co-CEO

Melbourne Theatre Company
Brett Sheehy AO, Artistic Director
Virginia Lovett, Executive Director

Queensland Theatre 
Sam Strong, Artistic Director
Amanda Jolly, Executive Director

State Theatre Company of South Australia
Mitchell Butel, Artistic Director
Jodi Glass, Executive Director/Producer

Sydney Theatre Company
Kip Williams, Artistic Director
Patrick McIntyre, Executive Director


Skeleton Tree // Q&A with Stephanie Lake

Read blog post